Agencies from seven countries join forces against corruption

On July 5, 2017 the UK's National Crime Agency (NCA) announced the establishment of the International Anti-Corruption Coordination Centre (IACCC), based in London.  The UK's NCA will host the IACCC until 2021. 

The IACCC's initial membership includes agencies from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Singapore, the UK and the United States.  The purpose of the centre is to improve the existing cooperation between member countries corruption enforcement agencies. 

"There is no doubt that the world's major economies are abused by corrupt leaders.  We have a responsibility to guard against that abuse, limit the damage it causes to countries already battling poverty, and pursue the individuals who put self-interest above the welfare of citizens.  This is the first law enforcement partnership specifically coordinating the global response to grand corruption.  We know from our experience the value that dedicated centres for collaboration bring to successful international law enforcement action and we will use all our combined expertise to tackle the most complex and devastating cases of corruption." (1) - Donald Toon, NCA Director of Economic Crime          

The centre should improve the sharing of information and resources, between the participating agencies, and enhance the process of enforcing global anti-corruption laws.  However, because the trend of cooperation between participating agencies has already been growing for years, the centre is likely to have less of an impact than the NCA announcement alludes.

For this effort to truly fulfill its goals, and have the impact the IACCC seeks, the list of participating agencies from non-Western countries will need to grow.       

IACCC participating agencies:

  • Australian Federal Police
  • New Zealand's Serious Fraud Office
  • New Zealand Police
  • Canadian Mounted Police
  • Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau of the Republic of Singapore
  • National Crime Agency
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

Agencies with plans to join the IACCC:

  • Interpol
  • US Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
  • US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)
  • US Homeland Security Investigations (HSI)

IACCC observer nations:

  • Switzerland
  • Germany

Contact GCSG experts at with any questions or for more information on how we can assist you with your compliance program.  Visit our website at to learn more about our products and services

Key Links: